Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Is 8 GB's of RAM good?

  1. #1
    Level 2
    Ohi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Internet
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    588
    NeoSim
    2.49
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    0
    Thanks
    330
    Thanked 189 Times in 125 Posts
    Downloads
    52
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    42
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    1 Month 2 Weeks 6 Days 3 Hours 7 Minutes 18 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status

    Is 8 GB's of RAM good?

    From what I've researched it's kind of good or, good?
    I'm still looking for ways to make the internet faster. We might/probably upgrade the internet speed to 7 Mbps, which is better than I have now... but is 7 Mbps good?
    Mbps means megabytes per. second, am I right?

  2. #2
    I'm original

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    20
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    706
    NeoSim
    2.41
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    1
    Thanks
    220
    Thanked 431 Times in 308 Posts
    Downloads
    86
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    164
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    3 Months 1 Week 4 Days 22 Hours 20 Minutes 14 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    71 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    RAM will not make your internet speed faster.
    And 8 GB ram is good.


  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Shawn For This Useful Post:

    Ohi (07-27-2011)

  4. #3
    Level 2
    Ohi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Internet
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    588
    NeoSim
    2.49
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    0
    Thanks
    330
    Thanked 189 Times in 125 Posts
    Downloads
    52
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    42
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    1 Month 2 Weeks 6 Days 3 Hours 7 Minutes 18 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    Oh I thought I read somewhere that it would make it easier to load pages?
    But I guess that was only one person saying that so I guess they were wrong.

  5. #4
    Level 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    174
    NeoSim
    2.67
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 288 Times in 163 Posts
    Downloads
    13
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    89
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    9 Months 5 Days 22 Hours 37 Minutes 38 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    0
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    Mbps is megabits per second, 8 megabits per second is equivalent to 1 megabyte per second.

  6. #5
    Level 2
    Ohi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Internet
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    588
    NeoSim
    2.49
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    0
    Thanks
    330
    Thanked 189 Times in 125 Posts
    Downloads
    52
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    42
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    1 Month 2 Weeks 6 Days 3 Hours 7 Minutes 18 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    Quote Originally Posted by WaserLave View Post
    Mbps is megabits per second, 8 megabits per second is equivalent to 1 megabyte per second.
    Oh, that sounds horrible than

  7. #6
    Level 2

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    174
    NeoSim
    2.67
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 288 Times in 163 Posts
    Downloads
    13
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    89
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    9 Months 5 Days 22 Hours 37 Minutes 38 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    0
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    Quote Originally Posted by Ohi View Post
    Oh, that sounds horrible than
    7Mbps is a pretty good speed, nowhere near horrible.

  8. #7
    Level 2
    Ohi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Internet
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    588
    NeoSim
    2.49
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    0
    Thanks
    330
    Thanked 189 Times in 125 Posts
    Downloads
    52
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    42
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    1 Month 2 Weeks 6 Days 3 Hours 7 Minutes 18 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    oh, that's cool :o

  9. #8
    Level 2
    Explosive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Meep.
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    536
    NeoSim
    1.39
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    0
    Thanks
    1,052
    Thanked 163 Times in 95 Posts
    Downloads
    84
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    113
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    7 Months 1 Week 5 Days 18 Hours 45 Minutes 37 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Undetermined
    Middleman Status
    Pretty decent ;O Better than AT&T. I used to have AT&T and I got like 3Mbps x)

    But now I have verizon, I hit 15Mbps speeds. Aweehh yeah.



  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Explosive For This Useful Post:

    Ohi (07-28-2011)

  11. #9
    Level 2
    Caedis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    2,596
    NeoSim
    1.83
    SW Level
    1
    SW Kills
    0
    Thanks
    1,975
    Thanked 665 Times in 518 Posts
    Downloads
    154
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    210
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    2 Months 1 Week 3 Days 17 Hours 38 Minutes 26 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    32 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Clean
    Middleman Status
    RAM will decide how fast your computer goes while running so many applications at once. I got a 12 GB RAM recently, and my computer has no faults. Besides, most games require no more than 4 GB of RAM anyway, so you should be fine and able to run most things with ease.

    By the way, if you have 7 mbps, your internet will be pretty nice. If it's 100-200 kbps, then you would have really slow internet. XD
    Last edited by Caedis; 07-28-2011 at 01:19 AM.

    ^thanks Kevin





  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Caedis For This Useful Post:

    Ohi (07-28-2011)

  13. #10
    The UnExpected-

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Age
    25
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    203
    NeoSim
    0
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 53 Times in 11 Posts
    Downloads
    37
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Rep Points
    28
    Rep Blips
    Time Spent Online:
    1 Week 1 Day 21 Hours 13 Minutes 38 Seconds
    Feedback Score
    9 (100%)
    Scammer Status
    Clean
    Middleman Status
    it depends on what you plan on doing. For intense work like Photoshop/Design/3D/Graphics, it is very good. For gaming also its great, but if you plan on using your computer only for emails/chat/data entry/neopets/music, then 4 GB should be good. You may also want a nice video card and a decent CPU


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •